So You Want To Build an Auto Aim System: The Dramatically Overstated Definitive Guide To Shooting Things Good

Preface

This post is my attempt to give an introduction to and overview of building an auto-aim system for RoboMaster. It’s based purely on my own experience, and is essentially just opinion. I am not an expert. I have not personally implemented all of the options I will lay out below. However, I have led implementation of two generations of this system at ARUW, and our 2021-2022 system performed well in competition. Our system runs on the dual-turret sentry, three standard robots, and a hero robot.

These learnings were enabled in huge part by the rest of the ARUW team, including the mechanical and electrical subteams for putting together great robots and other software team members for doing huge amounts of implementation and R&D. I am merely restating the learnings I took away from the whole team’s efforts.

Please do feel free to reply here with questions/comments, edit this post with clarifications, or message on DIscord for further discussion.

We will start by introducing the problem statement and key design archetypes to be considered. I’ll then lay out some practical considerations that I have found to be important and recommendations for how to go about implementing these systems.

The goal of this post is to give a starting point and general advice for system design. I’m not looking to make specific algorithm or technology recommendations, although I’ll mention precedent and historical successes.

What is an auto-aim system?

I will focus specifically on software systems designed to aim and fire at opposing robots’ armor plates. This kind of system is usually implemented using a visual detection mechanism via a camera, and I will assume this going forward.

We will assume that we have a robot with two-axis turret (pitch and yaw), a camera mounted on the turret looking “forward”, and some kind of motors which can rotate the axes.